TO: College Council Members

FROM: Jacquie Patterson, Executive Assistant

McQueary College of Health and Human Services

RE: MCQUEARY COLLEGE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES (unapproved)

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Call to Order: Dr. W. David Carr, Chair of MCHHS College Council, called the meeting to order 3:32 pm in PROF 105.

Present: Dr. W. David Carr (SMAT); Dr. Letitia White-Minnis (MCHHS Interim - Dean); Dr. Scott Zimmerman (BMS); Dr. Clay Franklin (CSD; Dr. Sean Newton (PT); Dr. Lisa Hall (PSY); Dr. Riley Galloway (KIN); Dr. Louise Bigley (NUR); Anna Laffoon – Student Representative – BMS; Ms. Jacquie Patterson (MCHHS Exec. Asst.)

Absent: Mrs. Kim Cook (PAS) and Dr. Rose Korang-Okrah (SWK)

Approval of Minutes: Clay Franklin made a motion to approve the January 2019 meeting minutes. Riley Galloway seconded the motion. Vote was taken and motion unanimously approved.

1. Curricular Proposal Changes:

BMS

BMS 400 International Service Learning Malnutrition in Developing Countries

Course Change

Title, Description

Clay Franklin made a motion to approve the course change. Louise Bigley seconded the motion. Vote was taken, and motion unanimously approved.

BMS 529 Molecular Genetics

Course Change

Credit Hours/Contact Hours, Description

Sean Newton made a motion to approve the course change. Louise Bigley seconded the motion. Vote was taken, and motion unanimously approved.

Curricular proposals forwarded to Graduate Council for approval – FYI only:

Course Change

BMS

BMS 629 Molecular Genetics

	DIVIO 023	Molecular deficites	oourse oriange	
	DTN 797	Non-thesis Project	Course Change	
NUR				
	Family N	urse Practitioner-DNP	Program Change	
	NUR 701	Nursing Science	Course Change	
	NUR 715	Primary Care of the Adult	Delete Course	
	NUR 725	Primary Care of Women	Delete Course	
	NUR 728	Primary Care of Children and Adolescents	Delete Course	
	NUR 733	Advanced Physical Assessment and Health Promotion	New Course	
	NUR 734	Advanced Physical Assessment and Clinical Reasoning	Course Change	
	NUR 761	Advanced Pharmacotherapeutics	Course Change	
	NUR 762	Prescriptive Practices for the Advanced Practice Nurse	e New Course	
	NUR 780	Teaching/Learning for Health Care Educators	Course Change	
	NUR 781	Nursing Education Practicum	Course Change	
	NUR 782	Program Development and Evaluation in Nursing Education	Course Change	
	NUR 787	Advanced Nursing Clinical Management	New Course	
	NUR 790	Family Nurse Practitioner Advanced Practicum	Course Change	
	NUR 797	Non-thesis Project	Course Change	
	NUR 800	DNP Leadership I: Concepts for Evidence-Based Practice	Course Change	
	NUR 820	Social Justice and Disparities in Health and Healthcare	e Delete Course	
	NUR 824	Health Policy to Improve Health Disparities	Course Change	

NUR 830 DNP Leadership II: Impacting Disparities in Health and Healthcare	Course Change
NUR 840 Technology for Transforming Nursing and Healthcare Systems	Course Change
NUR 860 DNP Leadership III: Transforming Systems	Course Change
NUR 990 Introduction to Transforming Practice	Course Change
NUR 991 Transforming Practice I	Delete Course
NUR 992 Transforming Practice II	Delete Course
NUR 993 Transforming Practice III	Course Change
NUR 998 Clinical Development	New Course
NUR 640 Advanced Human Pathophysiology	Course Change
Nurse Educator, Post-Masters-Graduate Certificate	Program Change
Nursing Practice, Doctor of-Post-Masters – DNP (Online)	Program Change
Nursing, Master of Science in-MSN	Program Change
Post-Masters Population Health-Graduate Certificate	Program Change

SMAT

ATC713 AT Practicum III Course Change
ATC724 AT Practicum IV Course Change
ATC784 AT Practicum V Course Change

2. Old Business - none

3. New Business -

- Council on General Education & Intercollegiate Program (CGEIP), voted for one candidate, elected for a 3-year term, from 2019 2022. The nominee by secret ballot, the results for the new candidate is: Dr. Ivy Fitzgerald, Biomedical Sciences Dept. (BMS)
- Committee on Faculty Concerns elected a replacement for Lisa Proctor, her term will
 end 2020. By secret ballot the results for the new candidate is: Dr. Patricia Cahoj,
 Physical Therapy Dept. (PT)

Faculty Student Judicial Commission (FSJC), voted for two nominees for 2019 – 2021 for a two-year term by the Faculty Senate. The two nominees, to be considered by Faculty Senate are: Andrea Applegate Physician Assistant Studies Dept. (PAS) and Dr. Mary Newman Psychology Dept. (PSY)

Louise Bigley made a motion to approve previous Chairperson Scott Zimmerman to preside over the March 2019 meeting, due to the absence of the current chairperson. Clay Franklin seconded the motion. Vote was taken, and motion unanimously approved.

Adjournment: Sean Newton made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Scott Zimmerman seconded the motion. Vote was taken, and motion unanimously approved. Meeting adjourned at 3:45 pm.

jp